抗凝患者的局部麻醉 - NYSORA | 纽索拉

抗凝患者的局部麻醉

最有可能从区域麻醉中受益的患者通常使用抗凝剂治疗,这会增加出血并发症的风险。 重要的是,抗凝患者发生椎管血肿 (VCH) 的风险增加,这是一种椎管内麻醉的并发症,如果不迅速识别和治疗,可能导致永久性神经系统并发症。 因此,在考虑椎管内麻醉或区域麻醉技术时,有出血风险的患者的决策策略非常重要。

引言

大多数有组织的麻醉医师协会,例如美国区域麻醉学会 (ASRA),已经发布了一套建议或指南,用于管理计划接受中枢神经阻滞 (CNB) 的正在接受抗血小板或抗凝药物治疗的患者。 不同有组织的社团的建议可能会有所不同,因为大多数建议都没有确凿的证据。 无论如何,可用的指南建议停止治疗后的时间间隔,在该时间间隔执行区域麻醉技术可能更安全。 建议还建议在手术或硬膜外导管拔除后可以重新开始使用抗凝剂和/或抗血小板药物治疗的时间间隔。 还应考虑可能增加患者出血风险的因素,如女性、年龄(>65 岁)、早期瘀伤或过度(手术)出血史、脊柱异常和肾功能不全。 此外,应权衡抗凝患者发生 VCH 的风险与区域麻醉的益处。 

抗血小板药物

表1 总结了当前 ASRA 指南中关于抗血小板药物椎管内阻滞前后的时间间隔。 

表 1. 抗血小板药物椎管内阻滞前后时间间隔指南 (2021)*

抗血小板剂停药后可进行椎管内阻滞时 用椎管内导管原位重新开始治疗椎管内阻滞/导管移除后重新开始治疗
阿司匹林没有额外的预防措施没有额外的预防措施没有额外的预防措施
NSAIDS没有额外的预防措施没有额外的预防措施没有额外的预防措施
氯吡格雷5-7天可以在无负荷剂量的情况下维持 1-2 天(术后 24 小时开始)立即
(负荷剂量:6小时)
普拉格雷7-10天不建议立即
(负荷剂量:6小时)
噻氯匹定10天可以在无负荷剂量的情况下维持 1-2 天(手术后 24 小时开始)立即
(负荷剂量:6小时)
替卡格雷5-7天不建议立即
(负荷剂量:6小时)
坎格雷洛3小时不建议8小时
阿昔单抗24-48 ^ h内禁用
4周的手术
无具体指导
替罗非班4-8 ^ h内禁用
4周的手术
无具体指导
依替巴肽4-8 ^ h内禁用
4周的手术
无具体指导
双嘧达莫缓释制剂 24 小时不建议6小时
西洛他唑2天不建议6小时
*阿什肯,T; & West,S. BJA 教育 2021,21:84-94。

 

阿司匹林和非甾体抗炎药

阿司匹林和非甾体抗炎药可抑制环氧合酶 (COX),从而防止血栓素 A 形成强效血小板聚集2. 它们以低剂量用于中风和心肌梗塞的一级和二级预防。 阿司匹林在血小板寿命期间影响血小板功能; NSAID 的影响功能只是暂时的。 ASRA 指南建议在 CNB 执行前使用这些药物治疗的患者无需采取额外的预防措施。

P2Y12 受体拮抗剂

阻止 P2Y12 受体抑制腺苷二磷酸介导的血小板聚集。 P2Y12 受体拮抗剂包括噻吩并吡啶类(氯吡格雷、普拉格雷、噻氯匹定)和非噻吩并吡啶类(替格瑞洛、坎格瑞洛)。 ASRA 指南建议在接受 CNB 之前停用所有这些药物(不包括坎格雷洛) 5-7 天(噻氯匹定为 10 天)。 Cangrelor 应在椎管内阻滞前 3 小时停药。 导管拔除或阻滞后可立即给予非负荷剂量的氯吡格雷、普拉格雷、噻氯匹定或替格瑞洛。 通过留置椎管内导管,可在术后 24 小时内给予氯吡格雷或噻氯匹定。 如果未给予负荷剂量,则导管应仅使用 1-2 天。 

血小板糖蛋白 IIb/IIIa 受体拮抗剂(阿昔单抗、替罗非班、依替巴肽)

血小板糖蛋白 IIb/IIIa 受体拮抗剂通过干扰血小板纤维蛋白原和血小板血管性血友病因子结合来抑制血小板聚集。 时间间隔基于恢复正常血小板聚集的时间。 阿昔单抗(24-48 小时)的间隔时间比依替巴肽和替罗非班(4-8 小时)长。 

双嘧达莫

双嘧达莫用于预防缺血性中风。 ASRA 指南建议在 CNB 使用前 24 小时停用缓释制剂。 此外,该药剂不应与椎管内导管原位给药。 

西洛他唑

西洛他唑抑制磷酸二酯酶 IIIa,从而抑制血小板聚集。 ASRA 指南建议在 CNB 执行前停药 48 小时。 

抗凝剂

表2 总结了当前 ASRA 指南关于抗凝剂椎管内阻滞前后的时间间隔。

表 2. 抗凝剂椎管内阻滞前后时间间隔指南 (2021)*

药物停药后可进行椎管内阻滞时 用椎管内导管原位重新开始治疗椎管内阻滞/导管移除后重新开始治疗
肝素和LMWH
和睦家如果 >4 天 UFH:除了在 CNB 之前遵循以下指导外,还进行血小板计数:
- 低剂量预防(5,000 U bd/tds): 4-6 小时及评估凝血状态后
- 高剂量预防(7,500-10,000 U bd 或 <20,000 U 每日总量): 12 小时及评估凝血状态后
- 治疗剂量(每剂>10,000 U;每天总计>20,000 U): 24 小时及评估凝血状态后
如果 > 天 UFH:除导管拔除前的以下指导外,还应进行血小板计数:
- 低剂量:可以在导管原位给药; 给药后 4-6 小时拔除导管
- 更高剂量(剂量 >5,000 U 或每日总剂量 >15,000):分析该患者的风险/益处; 如果给予,建立神经观察监测方案
1 小时(低剂量;没有关于更高剂量的具体指导)
和睦家四如果 > 4 天 UFH:在 CNB 之前除了以下指导外进行血小板计数:4-6 小时和正常凝血状态如果 > 4 天 UFH:除导管拔除前的以下指导外,还进行血小板计数:给药后 4-6 小时 1小时
低分子肝素如果 >4 天 LMWH:在 CNB 之前除了以下指导外,还进行血小板计数:
- 预防剂量: 12小时
- 治疗剂量: 24 小时并考虑抗 Xa 因子水平
如果 >4 天 LMWH:在 CNB 之前除了以下指导外,还进行血小板计数:
- 预防剂量: 导管不代表额外风险; 导管放置后 24 小时可接受的首次剂量; 最后一次给药后 12 小时拔除导管
- 治疗剂量: 不建议
预防剂量: 4小时
治疗剂量: 非高后 24 小时
出血风险手术/椎管内阻滞和高出血风险手术后 48-72 小时; 导管应在针头/导管放置后至少 24 小时取出,第一剂应在导管取出后至少 4 小时给药
肠外肝素替代品
磺达肝素仅在以下情况下:单针通过、无损伤针头放置、避免留置椎管内导管避免6小时
阿加曲班避免N / AN / A
比伐卢定避免N / AN / A
口服抗凝药物
利伐沙班72 小时; 如果更早,考虑利伐沙班或抗 Xa 因子水平(CNB 的安全残留水平未知)不推荐:意外给药时,保持利伐沙班给药 22-26 小时或在拔除导管前评估针对利伐沙班校准的抗 Xa 因子测定6小时
依多沙班72 小时; 如果更早,考虑艾多沙班或抗 Xa 因子水平(CNB 的安全残留水平未知)不推荐:在意外给药时,保持艾多沙班给药 20-28 小时,或在拔管前评估针对艾多沙班校准的抗 Xa 因子测定6小时
阿哌沙班72 小时; 如果更早,考虑阿哌沙班或抗 Xa 因子水平(CNB 的安全残留水平未知)不推荐:意外给药时,保持阿哌沙班给药 26-30 小时或在拔除导管前评估校准至阿哌沙班的抗 Xa 因子测定6小时
达比加群120 小时; 如果没有其他出血风险因素:
- CrCl >80 毫升/分钟: 72小时
- CrCl 50-79 毫升/分钟: 96小时
- CrCl 30-49 毫升/分钟: 120小时
- CrCl 30 毫升/分钟: 避免
不推荐:意外给药时,保持达比加群给药 34-36 小时或在拔除导管前评估 dTT 或 ECT6小时
华法林理想情况下在 5 天前停止 INR,并且 INR “正常化”- 低剂量治疗: 检查 INR 日常和常规感觉和运动神经学测试
- 印度卢比 1.5-2.9: 谨慎接受导管
- 印度卢比≥3.0: 持有华法林
拔除导管后,建议继续观察神经系统 24 小时
溶栓药物
溶栓药物(如阿替普酶和链激酶)48 小时并记录正常凝血(包括纤维蛋白原)不建议; 如果意外给予,测量纤维蛋白原以指导拔管时间不推荐,但请注意,在不可压缩血管穿刺后 10 天内不应给予这些药物的原始禁忌症
*阿什肯,T; & West,S. BJA 教育 2021,21:84-94。
APTTR,活化部分促凝血酶原激酶时间比; CNB,中央神经轴阻滞; CrCl,肌酐清除率; dTT,稀释凝血酶时间; ECT,蝮蛇毒凝血时间; INR,国际标准化比率; LMWH,低分子肝素; UFH,普通肝素。

 

肝素和低分子肝素 (LMWH)

普通肝素(UFH)

UFH 与抗凝血酶结合,导致凝血酶(因子 IIa)、因子 Xa 和因子 IXa 失活。 静脉内 (iv) UFH 立即起效,而皮下 (sc) 施用 5,000 IU 在 1 小时后发挥作用。 ASRA 指南推荐的时间间隔取决于给药途径和 sc UFH 的剂量。 SC UFH 的 CNB 前的时间间隔最长可达最后一次给药后 24 小时。 此外,接受 UFH > 4 天的患者应在 CNB 或拔管前进行血小板计数,以排除肝素诱导的血小板减少症。 

低分子肝素

LMWH 抑制 Xa 因子,适用于静脉血栓栓塞的预防和治疗。 ASRA 的指南建议不要对抗 Xa 因子水平进行常规测试,因为没有已知的 CNB 安全水平。 椎管内穿刺后应考虑 12 小时的时间间隔,直至第一次预防性剂量,治疗性 LMWH 的时间间隔为 24 小时。 如果患者每天接受预防性剂量,请保留导管。 导管应在最后一次每日预防剂量后 12 小时取出。

肠外肝素替代品

Xa因子抑制剂(磺达肝素)

CNB 仅适用于接受磺达肝癸钠治疗的患者的以下情况:单针穿刺、无创伤手术和无椎管内导管。

直接凝血酶抑制剂(阿加曲班、比伐卢定)

通过活化部分促凝血酶原激酶时间(APTT)监测直接凝血酶抑制剂的作用,并在静脉内给药后持续 3 小时。 不建议服用阿加曲班或比伐卢定的患者使用椎管内技术。

直接口服抗凝药

口服 Xa 因子抑制剂(利伐沙班、依度沙班、阿哌沙班)

对于利伐沙班,时间间隔取决于剂量和患者的肾功能。 艾多沙班和阿哌沙班的时间间隔与利伐沙班相似(即 72 小时)。 

口服凝血酶抑制剂(达比加群)

达比加群适用于预防和治疗静脉血栓栓塞并降低中风的风险。 时间间隔很大程度上取决于患者的肾功能,因为 >80% 由肾脏排泄。 ASRA 指南建议在没有肾功能测量的情况下,在椎管内穿刺前最后一次给药后 120 小时的时间间隔。 如果没有其他危险因素并且可以进行肾功能测量,则应采用基于肌酐清除率的分级方法。 ASRA 指南建议不要在椎管内导管原位时使用达比加群。 此外,导管必须在再次给药前 6 小时取出。

华法林

华法林抑制维生素 K 依赖性凝血因子 II、VII、IX 和 X 的合成。 ASRA 指南推荐正常的国际标准化比率(INR;即≤1.1)。 当 INR 为 1.5-3.0 时,谨慎地使用椎管内导管给药(例如,感觉和运动功能的神经学观察)是可以接受的。 可以在 INR <1.5 的情况下移除导管并继续进行神经系统观察 24 小时。 

在没有大出血的情况下,华法林可以用维生素 K 逆转,静脉输注在 6-8 小时内起作用。 也可以使用凝血酶原复合物浓缩物(Octaplex 和 Beriplex)。 

溶栓剂/纤维蛋白溶解剂(阿替普酶、链激酶)

溶栓剂/纤维蛋白溶解剂与纤溶酶原相互作用产生纤溶酶,纤溶酶溶解纤维蛋白分子之间的连接以溶解凝块。 这些药物用于急性心肌梗塞、肺栓塞和脑血管意外。 在凝血研究(包括纤维蛋白原计数)正常的患者中,仅应在给予这些药物 48 小时后考虑进行椎管内穿刺。 此外,应对患者进行神经学监测,最好每 2 小时一次。

如何使用外周神经阻滞指南?

关于周围神经阻滞 (PNB) 后出血性并发症的频率和结果的客观信息更少。 

2021 年 ASRA 指南总结了 32 例 PNB 后出现严重出血并发症的患者报告,并观察到以下趋势:

  • 患有神经功能障碍的患者在 12 个月内全部康复。
  • 出现并发症后需要住院的患者住院时间延长。
  • 抗凝患者的并发症更多是由于失血而不是神经损伤。
  • 深神经丛(如腰丛神经阻滞)和深部外周神经阻滞(如近端坐骨神经阻滞)的风险更高。
  • 通常没有血管外伤的证据。

总之,接受椎管内神经阻滞、深丛神经阻滞或深部周围神经阻滞的抗凝患者应像接受椎管内麻醉一样进行管理。 临床判断应用于决定其他区域麻醉技术的安全性,例如浅丛神经阻滞和神经阻滞。 例如,应牢记进行阻滞的解剖部位的血管分布和可压缩性以及这些部位出血的潜在后果。 应权衡这些患者停止抗凝治疗的风险与椎管内和神经阻滞麻醉和镇痛的益处。 

阅读更多 在 NYSORA 的这个链接上关于抗凝剂: 抗凝剂患者的椎管内麻醉和外周神经阻滞

补充阅读

  • Ashken T, West S. 有出血风险患者的区域麻醉。 BJA教育 2021; 21:84-94。 
  • 史密斯 LM, Cozowicz C, Uda Y, Memtsoudis SG, Barrington MJ。 与全身麻醉相比,椎管内麻醉和椎管内/全身麻醉联合用于主要的躯干和下肢手术。 安妮丝·阿纳格(Anesth Analg) 2017; 125:1931-45。
  • Johnson RL、Kopp SL、Burkle CM 等人。 全髋关节和全膝关节置换术的椎管内麻醉与全身麻醉:比较有效性研究的系统评价。 Br J Anaesth 2016; 116:163-76。
  • 尼尔 JM、巴灵顿 MJ、布鲁尔 R 等人。 关于与区域麻醉和疼痛药物相关的神经系统并发症的第二次 ASRA 实践咨询。 Reg Anesth 疼痛医学 2015; 40:401-30。
  • Maier C、Gleim M、Weiss T、Stachetzki U、Nicolas V、Zenz M. 两名服用不可逆血小板聚集抑制剂的患者腰部交感神经阻滞后严重出血。 麻醉学 2002; 97:740-3。
  • Moen V, Dahlgren N, Irestedt L. 1990-1999 年瑞典中央神经轴阻滞后的严重神经系统并发症。 麻醉学 2004; 101:950-9。
  • 皇家麻醉师学院。 NAP 3 椎管内阻滞并发症。 2009 年。可从:https://www.nationalauditprojects.org.uk/NAP3_home。 [7 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日访问]。
  • Pitkanen MT,Aromaa U,Cozanitis DA,福斯特 JG。 2000 年至 2009 年芬兰与脊髓和硬膜外麻醉相关的严重并发症。 麻醉麻醉学报 2013; 57:553-64。
  • Ruppen W, Derry S, McQuay H, Moore RA。 硬膜外镇痛/麻醉产科患者硬膜外血肿、感染和神经损伤的发生率。 麻醉学 2006; 105:394-9。
  • Filipovic M. 新型抗血小板药物和新型口服抗凝剂。 Br J Anaesth 2016; 117:74-84。
  • Mcilmoyle K,Tran H. 口服抗凝剂的围手术期管理。 BJA教育 2018; 18:259-64。
  • Harrop-Griffiths W、Cook T、Gill H 等人。 区域麻醉和凝血异常的患者。 麻醉 2013; 68:966-72。
  • Horlocker TT、Vandermeuelen E、Kopp SL、Gogarten W、Leffert LR、Benzon HT。 接受抗血栓或溶栓治疗的患者的局部麻醉。 Reg Anesth 疼痛医学 2018; 43:263-309。
  • Gogarten W, Vandermeulen E, Van Aken H, Kozek S, Llau JV, Samama CM。 区域麻醉和抗血栓药物:欧洲麻醉学会的建议。 欧洲麻醉学杂志 2010; 27:999-1015。
  • Breivik H、Bang U、Jalonen J、Vigfusson G、Alahuhta S、Lagerkranser M. 北欧麻醉学和重症监护医学学会关于扰乱止血的椎管内阻滞指南。 麻醉麻醉学报 2010; 54:16-41。
  • 15. Ramalingam G、Jones N、Besser M. 麻醉师血小板第 2 部分:药理学。 BJA教育 2016; 16:140-5。
  • 基林 D、巴格林 T、泰特 C 等。 华法林口服抗凝指南第四版。 布鲁·哈马托尔 2011; 154:311-24。
  • Joubert F、Gillois P、Bouaziz H、Marret E、Iohom G、Albaladejo P. 使用抗凝剂或抗血小板药物治疗的患者周围区域麻醉后的出血并发症:系统评价。 Anaesth Crit Care 疼痛医学 2019; 38:507-16。
  • Tsui BCH、Kirkham K、Kwofie MK 等。 关于周围神经和筋膜平面阻滞的出血风险的实践咨询:证据审查和专家共识。 可以 J Anaesth 2019; 66:1356-84。

Regional Anesthesia in Anticoagulated Patients - NYSORA | NYSORA

Regional Anesthesia in Anticoagulated Patients

Patients most likely to benefit from regional anesthesia are often treated with anticoagulants, which increases the risk of hemorrhagic complications. Importantly, anticoagulated patients are at an increased risk of developing vertebral canal hematoma (VCH), a complication of neuraxial anesthesia which may result in permanent neurological complications if not rapidly recognized and treated. Therefore, the decision-making strategy of patients at risk of bleeding is important when considering neuraxial or regional anesthesia techniques.

INTRODUCTION

Most organized societies of anesthesiologists, such as the American Society of Regional Anesthesia (ASRA), have published a set of recommendations or guidelines for the management of patients being treated with antiplatelet or anticoagulant medications who are planned to receive central neuraxial blocks (CNB). Recommendations by different organized societies may vary somewhat because no firm evidence exists for most recommendations. Regardless, the available guidelines recommend time intervals after stopping the treatment at which performing regional anesthesia technique may be safer. The recommendations also suggest time intervals at which the treatment with anticoagulants and/or antiplatelet agents can be restarted after the procedure or removal of an epidural catheter. Factors that may increase the patient’s risk of bleeding should also be considered, such as female gender, age (>65 years), history of early bruising or excessive (surgical) bleeding, spinal column abnormalities, and renal insufficiency. Furthermore, the risk of VCH in an anticoagulated patient should be weighed against the benefits of regional anesthesia. 

ANTIPLATELET AGENTS

Table 1 summarizes the current ASRA guidelines on time intervals before and after neuraxial blocks for antiplatelet agents. 

Table 1. Guidelines on time intervals before and after neuraxial blocks for antiplatelet agents (2021)*

Antiplatelet agentWhen neuraxial block can be performed after drug is stopped Restarting the therapy with neuraxial catheter in situRestarting the therapy after neuraxial block/catheter removal
AspirinNo additional precautionsNo additional precautionsNo additional precautions
NSAIDSNo additional precautionsNo additional precautionsNo additional precautions
Clopidogrel5-7 daysOK to maintain for 1-2 days providing no loading dose (start 24 h postoperative)Immediately
(loading dose: 6 h)
Prasugrel7-10 daysNot recommendedImmediately
(loading dose: 6 h)
Ticlopidine10 daysOK to maintain for 1-2 days providing no loading dose (start 24 h after surgery)Immediately
(loading dose: 6 h)
Ticagrelor5-7 daysNot recommendedImmediately
(loading dose: 6 h)
Cangrelor3 hNot recommended8 h
Abciximab24-48 hContraindicated within
4 weeks of surgery
No specific guidance
Tirofiban4-8 hContraindicated within
4 weeks of surgery
No specific guidance
Eptifibatide4-8 hContraindicated within
4 weeks of surgery
No specific guidance
Dipyridamole24 h for extended-release formulationNot recommended6 h
Cilostazol2 daysNot recommended6 h
*Ashken, T; & West, S. BJA Education 2021, 21: 84-94.

 

Aspirin and NSAIDS

Aspirin and NSAIDS inhibit cyclo-oxygenase (COX), which prevents the formation of the potent platelet aggregation of thromboxane-A2. They are indicated at low doses for primary and secondary prevention of stroke and myocardial infarction. Aspirin affects platelet function for the duration of platelet life; NSAID’s affect function only temporarily. ASRA guidelines recommend no additional precautions in patients treated with these medications before CNB performance.

P2Y12 receptor antagonists

Blocking the P2Y12 receptor inhibits adenosine-diphosphate-mediated platelet aggregation. P2Y12 receptor antagonists include the thienopyridines (clopidogrel, prasugrel, ticlopidine) and the non-thienopyridines (ticagrelor, cangrelor). ASRA guidelines recommend discontinuing all these drugs (excluding cangrelor) for 5-7 days before receiving a CNB (10 days for ticlopidine). Cangrelor should be stopped 3 h before the administration of a neuraxial block. A non-loading dose of clopidogrel, prasugrel, ticlopidine, or ticagrelor can be given immediately after catheter removal or block performance. With an indwelling neuraxial catheter, clopidogrel or ticlopidine can be given from 24 h postoperatively. If a loading dose is not given, the catheter should only be used for 1-2 days. 

Platelet glycoprotein IIb/IIIa receptor antagonists (abciximab, tirofiban, eptifibatide)

Platelet glycoprotein IIb/IIIa receptor antagonists inhibit platelet aggregation via interference with platelet fibrinogen and platelet von Willebrand factor binding. The time intervals are based on the time to return to normal platelet aggregation. The intervals are longer for abciximab (24-48 h) than for eptifibatide and tirofiban (4-8 h). 

Dipyridamole

Dipyridamole is used to prevent ischemic stroke. ASRA guidelines recommend discontinuing the extended-release formulation 24 h before CNB performance. Moreover, the agent should not be given with a neuraxial catheter in situ. 

Cilostazol

Cilostazol inhibits phosphodiesterase IIIa and thus platelet aggregation. ASRA guidelines recommend discontinuation for 48 h before CNB performance. 

ANTICOAGULANT AGENTS

Table 2 summarizes the current ASRA guidelines on time intervals before and after neuraxial blocks for anticoagulant agents.

Table 2. Guidelines on time intervals before and after neuraxial blocks for anticoagulant agents (2021)*

DrugWhen neuraxial block can be performed after drug is stopped Restarting the therapy with neuraxial catheter in situRestarting the therapy after neuraxial block/catheter removal
Heparin and LMWH
UFH s.c.If >4 days UFH: perform platelet count in addition to following guidance before CNB:
- Low-dose prophylaxis (5,000 U b.d./t.d.s.): 4-6 h and after coagulation status assessed
- Higher-dose prophylaxis (7,500-10,000 U b.d. or <20,000 U daily total): 12 h and after coagulation status assessed
- Therapeutic dose (>10,000 U per dose; >20,000 U daily total): 24 h and after coagulation status assessed
If >days UFH: perform platelet count in addition to following guidance before catheter removal:
- Low dose: Acceptable to give whilst catheter in situ; catheter removal 4-6 h after administration
- Higher dose (doses >5,000 U or daily total >15,000): Analyze risk/benefit in that patient; if giving, institute neurological observation monitoring regimen
1 h (low dose; no specific guidance on higher dose)
UFH i.v.If >4 days UFH: perform platelet count in addition to the following guidance before CNB: 4-6 h and normal coagulation statusIf >4 days UFH: perform platelet count in addition to the following guidance before catheter removal: 4-6 h after administration 1 h
LMWHIf >4 days LMWH: perform platelet count in addition to the following guidance before CNB:
- Prophylactic dose: 12 h
- Treatment dose: 24 h and consider anti-factor Xa level
If >4 days LMWH: perform platelet count in addition to the following guidance before CNB:
- Prophylactic o.d. dose: Catheters do not represent additional risk; first dose acceptable 24 h after catheter placement; remove catheter 12 h after last dose
- Treatment dose: Not recommended
Prophylactic dose: 4 h
Treatment dose: 24 h after non-high-
bleeding-risk surgery/neuraxial block placement and 48-72 h after high-bleeding-risk surgery; catheters should be removed at least 24 h after needle/catheter placement, and first dose should be given at least 4 h after catheter removal
Parenteral heparin alternatives
FondaparinuxOnly where: single-needle pass, atraumatic needle placement, avoidance of indwelling neuraxial cathetersAvoid6 h
ArgatrobanAvoidN/AN/A
BivalirudinAvoidN/AN/A
Oral anticoagulant drugs
Rivaroxaban72 h; if earlier, consider rivaroxaban or anti-factor Xa level (safe residual level for CNB is unknown)Not recommended: with unanticipated administration, hold rivaroxaban dosing for 22-26 h or assess an anti-factor Xa assay calibrated to rivaroxaban before catheter removal6 h
Edoxaban72 h; if earlier, consider edoxaban or anti-factor Xa level (safe residual level for CNB is unknown)Not recommended: with unanticipated administration, hold edoxaban dosing for 20-28 h or assess an anti-factor Xa assay calibrated to edoxaban before catheter removal6 h
Apixaban72 h; if earlier, consider apixaban or anti-factor Xa level (safe residual level for CNB is unknown)Not recommended: with unanticipated administration, hold apixaban dosing for 26-30 h or assess an anti-factor Xa assay calibrated to apixaban before catheter removal6 h
Dabigatran120 h; if no additional risk factors for bleeding:
- CrCl >80 mL/min: 72 h
- CrCl 50-79 mL/min: 96 h
- CrCl 30-49 mL/min: 120 h
- CrCl 30 mL/min: avoid
Not recommended: with unanticipated administration, hold dabigatran dosing for 34-36 h or assess the dTT or ECT before catheter removal6 h
WarfarinIdeally stop INR 5 days before and INR “normalized”- Low-dose therapy: Check INR daily and routine sensory and motor neurological testing
- INR 1.5-2.9: Catheter acceptable with caution
- INR ≥3.0: Hold warfarin
After catheter removal, suggest continuing neurological observations for 24 h
Thrombolytic drugs
Thrombolytic drugs (e.g., alteplase and streptokinase)48 h and documented normal clotting (including fibrinogen)Not recommended; if unexpectedly given, measure fibrinogen to guide timing of catheter removalNo recommendation, but note that original contraindications to these drugs state should not be given for 10 days after puncture of non-compressible vessels
*Ashken, T; & West, S. BJA Education 2021, 21: 84-94.
APTTR, activated partial thromboplastin time ratio; CNB, central neuraxial block; CrCl, creatinine clearance; dTT, dilute thrombin time; ECT, ecarin clotting time; INR, international normalized ratio; LMWH, low-molecular-weight heparin; UFH, unfractionated heparin.

 

Heparin and low-molecular-weight heparins (LMWH)

Unfractionated heparin (UFH)

UFH binds to antithrombin, leading to the inactivation of thrombin (factor IIa), factor Xa, and factor IXa. Intravenous (i.v.) UFH acts immediately while subcutaneously (s.c.) administered 5,000 I.U. exerts its effects after 1 h. The ASRA guidelines recommended time intervals are dependent on the route of administration and for s.c. UFH on the dose. Time intervals before CNB for s.c. UFH can be up to 24 h after the last dose. Furthermore, patients receiving UFH >4 days should have a platelet count before CNB or catheter removal to exclude heparin-induced thrombocytopenia. 

LMWH

LMWHs inhibit factor Xa and are indicated for venous thromboembolism prophylaxis and treatment. Guidelines by ASRA recommend against routine testing of anti-factor Xa levels since there is no known safe level for performing CNBs. A 12 h time interval should be considered after neuraxial puncture until the first prophylactic dose and a 24 h time interval for therapeutic LMWH. Maintain catheters if the patient receives a prophylactic dose daily. The catheter should be removed 12 h after the last daily prophylactic dose.

Parenteral heparin alternatives

Factor Xa inhibitors (fondaparinux)

A CNB is only appropriate in the following circumstances for a patient treated with fondaparinux: single-needle pass, atraumatic procedure, and no neuraxial catheter.

Direct thrombin inhibitors (argatroban, bivalirudin)

Direct thrombin inhibitors’ effects are monitored via activated partial thromboplastin time (APTT) and last for 3 h after i.v. administration. Neuraxial techniques are not recommended in patients taking argatroban or bivalirudin.

Direct oral anticoagulants

Oral factor Xa inhibitors (rivaroxaban, edoxaban, apixaban)

For rivaroxaban, the time intervals depend on the dose and the patient’s renal function. Edoxaban and apixaban have similar time intervals as rivaroxaban (i.e., 72 h). 

Oral thrombin inhibitors (dabigatran)

Dabigatran is indicated for the prevention and treatment of venous thromboembolism and to lower the risk of a stroke. The time intervals largely depend on the patient’s renal function as >80% is excreted by the kidneys. ASRA guidelines recommend a time interval of 120 h after the last dose before neuraxial puncture in the absence of renal function measurement. A graduated approach based on creatinine clearance should be followed if there are no additional risk factors and a renal function measurement is available. ASRA guidelines advise against administering dabigatran when a neuraxial catheter is in situ. Moreover, the catheter must be removed 6 h before administering the agent again.

Warfarin

Warfarin inhibits the vitamin-K-dependent clotting factors II, VII, IX, and X synthesis. ASRA guidelines recommend a normal international normalized ratio (INR; i.e., ≤1.1). Administration of the drug with a neuraxial catheter in place is acceptable with caution (e.g., neurological observations of sensory and motor function) when the INR is 1.5-3.0. Catheters can be removed with an INR <1.5 and continued neurological observations for 24 h. 

Warfarin can be reversed with vitamin K in the absence of major bleeding, an i.v. infusion acts within 6-8 h. Prothrombin complex concentrate (Octaplex and Beriplex) can also be used. 

Thrombolytic/fibrinolytic agents (alteplase, streptokinase)

Thrombolytic/fibrinolytic agents interact with plasminogen to produce plasmin that lyses links between fibrin molecules to dissolve clots. These drugs are used in acute myocardial infarction, pulmonary embolism, and cerebrovascular accidents. A neuraxial puncture should only be considered 48 h after administration of these agents in patients where clotting studies (including fibrinogen count) are normal. In addition, patients should be neurologically monitored, ideally every 2 h.

HOW TO USE THE GUIDELINES IN PERIPHERAL NERVE BLOCKS?

Even less objective information is available regarding the frequency and outcome of hemorrhagic complications after peripheral nerve blocks (PNBs). 

The ASRA guidelines of 2021 include a summary of 32 case reports of patients having severe hemorrhagic complications after PNBs and observed the following trends:

  • Patients suffering from neurological deficits all completely recovered within 12 months.
  • Patients requiring hospitalization after developing complications had a prolonged stay.
  • Complications in anticoagulated patients resulted more from blood loss than from neurological damage.
  • Deep plexus (e.g., lumbar plexus block) and deep peripheral blocks (e.g., proximal sciatic nerve block) carried a higher risk.
  • There was often no evidence of vessel trauma.

In conclusion, anticoagulated patients receiving perineuraxial, deep plexus, or deep peripheral nerve blocks should be managed as if they are undergoing neuraxial anesthesia. Clinical discretion should be used for decision-making regarding the safety of other regional anesthesia techniques, such as superficial plexus blocks and nerve blocks. As an example, the vascularity and compressibility of the anatomical site where the blocks are being performed and the potential consequences of bleeding at those sites should be kept in mind. The risks of discontinuing anticoagulation therapy in these patients should be weighed versus the benefits of neuraxial and nerve block anesthesia and analgesia. 

READ MORE about Anticoagulants at this link on NYSORA: Neuraxial Anesthesia and Peripheral Nerve Blocks in Patients on Anticoagulants

ADDITIONAL READING

  • Ashken T, West S. Regional anesthesia in patients at risk of bleeding. BJA Educ 2021; 21:84-94. 
  • Smith LM, Cozowicz C, Uda Y, Memtsoudis SG, Barrington MJ. Neuraxial and combined neuraxial/general anesthesia compared to general anesthesia for major truncal and lower limb surgery. Anesth Analg 2017; 125:1931-45.
  • Johnson RL, Kopp SL, Burkle CM et al. Neuraxial vs general anaesthesia for total hip and total knee arthroplasty: a systematic review of comparative-effectiveness research. Br J Anaesth 2016; 116: 163-76.
  • Neal JM, Barrington MJ, Brull R et al. The second ASRA practice advisory on neurologic complications associated with regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Reg Anesth Pain Med 2015; 40: 401-30.
  • Maier C, Gleim M, Weiss T, Stachetzki U, Nicolas V, Zenz M. Severe bleeding following lumbar sympathetic block in two patients under medication with irreversible platelet aggregation inhibitors. Anesthesiology 2002; 97: 740-3.
  • Moen V, Dahlgren N, Irestedt L. Severe neurological complications after central neuraxial blocks in Sweden 1990-1999. Anesthesiology 2004; 101: 950-9.
  • Royal College of Anaesthetists. NAP 3 complications of neuraxial block. 2009. Available from: https://www.nationalauditprojects.org.uk/NAP3_home. [Accessed 7 January 2021].
  • Pitkanen MT, Aromaa U, Cozanitis DA, Forster JG. Serious complications associated with spinal and epidural anaesthesia in Finland from 2000 to 2009. Acta Anaesthesiol Scand 2013; 57: 553-64.
  • Ruppen W, Derry S, McQuay H, Moore RA. Incidence of epidural hematoma, infection, and neurologic injury in obstetric patients with epidural analgesia/anesthesia. Anesthesiology 2006; 105: 394-9.
  • Filipovic M. New antiplatelet drugs and new oral anticoagulants. Br J Anaesth 2016; 117: 74-84.
  • Mcilmoyle K, Tran H. Perioperative management of oral anticoagulation. BJA Educ 2018; 18: 259-64.
  • Harrop-Griffiths W, Cook T, Gill H et al. Regional anaesthesia and patients with abnormalities of coagulation. Anaesthesia 2013; 68: 966-72.
  • Horlocker TT, Vandermeuelen E, Kopp SL, Gogarten W, Leffert LR, Benzon HT. Regional anesthesia in the patient receiving antithrombotic or thrombolytic therapy. Reg Anesth Pain Med 2018; 43: 263-309.
  • Gogarten W, Vandermeulen E, Van Aken H, Kozek S, Llau JV, Samama CM. Regional anaesthesia and antithrombotic agents: recommendations of the European Society of Anaesthesiology. Eur J Anaesthesiol 2010; 27: 999-1015.
  • Breivik H, Bang U, Jalonen J, Vigfusson G, Alahuhta S, Lagerkranser M. Nordic guidelines for neuraxial blocks in disturbed haemostasis from the Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. Acta Anaesthesiol Scand 2010; 54: 16-41.
  • 15. Ramalingam G, Jones N, Besser M. Platelets for anaesthetists part 2: pharmacology. BJA Educ 2016; 16: 140-5.
  • Keeling D, Baglin T, Tait C et al. Guidelines on oral anticoagulation with warfarin fourth edition. Br J Haematol 2011; 154: 311-24.
  • Joubert F, Gillois P, Bouaziz H, Marret E, Iohom G, Albaladejo P. Bleeding complications following peripheral regional anaesthesia in patients treated with anticoagulants or antiplatelet agents: a systematic review. Anaesth Crit Care Pain Med 2019; 38: 507-16.
  • Tsui BCH, Kirkham K, Kwofie MK et al. Practice advisory on the bleeding risks for peripheral nerve and interfascial plane block: evidence review and expert consensus. Can J Anaesth 2019; 66: 1356-84.

[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]